Come Heavenly Love, Inspire My Song by Anne Steele

Come heavenly love, inspire my song,
With thy immortal flame;
And teach my heart, to teach my tongue,
The Savior’s lovely name.

The Savior! O what endless charms
Dwell in the blissful sound!
Its influence every fear disarms,
And spreads sweet comfort round.

Here pardon, life, and joys divine
In rich effusion flow,
For guilty rebels lost in sin,
And doomed to endless woe.

God’s only Son, (stupendous grace!)
Forsook his throne above;
And swift to save our wretched race,
He flew on wings of love.

Th’ Almighty former of the skies
Stooped to our vile abode;
While angels viewed with wondering eyes,
And hailed th’ incarnate God.

O the rich depths of love divine!
Of bliss, a boundless store:
Dear Savior, let me call thee mine,
I cannot wish for more.

On thee alone my hope relies,
Beneath thy cross I fall.
My Lord, my life, my sacrifice,
My Savior, and my all.

by Anne Steele

Leave a Reply

