A Steadfast Heart by Elizabeth Prentiss

Keep my heart steadfast, dearest Lord,
	For earth's allurments shine,
And bid me turn mine eye away
	From looking into Thine.

O keep me steadfast! Earthly tones
	Fall sweetly on my ear,
And while I pause to list to them
	Thy voice I cannot hear.

O keep me steadfast! Human smiles
	Delude my childish heart;
While rapt in them how easily
	From Thee I can depart.

Yes keep me, keep me, for myself
	I cannot, cannot keep;
Keep me by day, keep me by night
	O Thou who dost not sleep

by Elizabeth Prentiss

Leave a Reply

