Sonnet for the Evening by Kilby Austin

Here, as the darkness deepens, Lord, I come
to seek your throne of mercy in the night
where I may find a place to rest for some
short minutes till my consciousness takes flight
into the nonsense dreaming that your hand
has given as a respite to all men.
But Lord, until that common grace demand
my cares from me awhile, I’d seek again
your special grace which not all men can claim,
to cast my cares on you, and then to rest
full conscious of your care for me
a comfort better far than slumber’s best.
Then, when I’ve thought upon your care, let sleep descend,
and sleeping, I’ll remember you till night shall end.
Leave a Reply

